Five a Day

(Or How to Look at the Glass Half Full)

Daily Prompt from WordPress
Five a Day
You’ve being exiled to a private island, and your captors will only supply you with five foods. What do you pick?

Okay, I’m stuck here.  Not by choice.  But let’s not let the topic lead me into places I’d rather not be.   Though I could probably manage as a survivalist, I’ll decline.  I like to think I have an open mind, but eating bugs squashes that bit of self-aggrandizement.  The cabin is adorable, well-lit, cozy with a wood fireplace and walk-out windows and curtains that swell gently in the spring breeze.   It is a page out of Houzz.  The beach is visible through the windows, and behind me are wooded hills enough to climb.  The kitchen, like any good beach rental, has some basic salt and pepper, olive oil, a few herbs.  All of the bugs are outside where they belong.  The shelves are stocked with books and paints and canvasses and a compy to type.  At least I won’t die of boredom, the number one killer of the imprisoned.

Food request list:

  1. Organic, non-fat, plain Greek yogurt.
  2. Fresh, edible fish of the day
  3. Honey
  4. Tea
  5. Brussels sprouts

In a month I will have devised a way to change the menu.  In three I will have achieved my desired weight goal.   In six I’ll be relocated to a better place, if that’s possible.

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/80/e2/55/80e2552e62cf1467ac484502b47c0080.jpg

Five a Day

Leave a Reply

